Julian Dozier Becomes 95th Chair of the Florida Institute of Certified Public Accountants

The Florida Institute of Certified Public Accountants (FICPA) is proud to announce that Julian Dozier, CPA, ABV, CFF, CFE, began his tenure as the Chair of the FICPA on July 1, 2022.

“The FICPA has positively impacted every stage of my career, and I appreciate my fellow volunteers for entrusting me with this role,” said Dozier, a shareholder at Thomas Howell Ferguson P.A. CPAs and the director of the firm’s assurance services department. “The FICPA exists to protect the value of the CPA license, promote the accounting profession, educate and enrich its members, and innovate through forward-thinking leadership.

“This is an exciting moment for our profession. As CPAs, we can each design our career to suit our own goals and values; we offer incredible opportunities for students and the newly licensed; and together we ensure CPAs thrive as we power the success of Florida businesses and the communities we serve.”

Dozier joined the FICPA in 2006, started volunteering with the Accounting Principles and Auditing Standards Committee in 2010, and has been a member of its Council since 2016. He is a member of the AICPA’s Council and a graduate of its Leadership Academy. An active member of his local community, Dozier is the Immediate Past Chair of Leadership Tallahassee and has served in leadership roles with the Tallahassee Symphony Orchestra, Greater Tallahassee Chamber of Commerce, and LeMoyne Center for the Visual Arts, among others. He was named to CPA Practice Advisor’s “40 Under 40” in 2021 and received the AICPA’s “Standing Ovation” recognition in 2016. He received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in accounting from Florida State University.

Dozier has served as the FICPA’s Chair-Elect for the last 12 months and now succeeds outgoing Chair Kristin Bivona, who will remain a member of the FICPA Council.

“Julian has been an invaluable partner and friend in the past year,” said Bivona, Managing Partner at GellerRagans. “He leads with integrity and a sense of gratitude for those around him. His strategic thinking and attention to detail have already proven a benefit to the FICPA and will continue to do so well into the future.”

Dozier will work closely alongside FICPA President & CEO Shelly Weir. Together, they will complete the Institute’s ongoing headquarters relocation to its new home in Downtown Orlando and oversee the launch of the FICPA’s new five-year strategic plan focused on growth and innovation.

“Julian is the perfect person to help steward the FICPA into the future,” said Weir. “We are at an exciting time in the organization’s history, and I can think of no better person to lead us through the final stages of our transition.”

Dozier looks forward to advancing the FICPA’s strategic goals in partnership with its staff and his fellow Board and Council members listed below.

2022-23 FICPA Board of Directors: Hector Aguililla (Berkowitz Pollack Brant), Valrie Chambers (Stetson University), Ed Duarte (Foreign Parts Distributors, Inc.), Jennifer Gunter (Florida Department of Transportation), Kathryn Horton (Kathryn K. Horton CPA PA), Jennifer Keller (Crowe LLP), Key O’Keefe (O’Keefe, Somerville & Associates PLLC), Mindy Rankin (Warren Averett, LLC), Brion Sharpe (PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP), Cheri Swain (Carr, Riggs & Ingram, LLC), and Alex Welsh (A-LIGN) (Young CPAs Committee advisory member; non-voting)

2022-23 FICPA Council members: Kristin Bivona (GellerRagans), Kathleen Brothers (Carroll and Company, CPAs), Randy Coleman (Merrill Lynch), Adam Daniels (Spoor Bunch Franz), Lydia Desnoyers (DesCPA Business Advisory), Michael Dupree (Warren Averett, LLC), Ashley Fagan (KPMG, LLP), Delia Finnerty (Law, Redd, Crona & Munroe, PA), Andrew Gay (Grimsley and Company CPAs), Mike Jerman (Hollywell Partners, LLC), Bill Kaser (William M. Kaser, CPA PA), Karen Lake (Berkowitz Pollack Brant), Robert Maya (Kaufman, Rossin & Co. P.A.), Kristian Nenov (BDO USA, LLP), Chris Oatis (Grant Thornton LLP), W.G. Spoor (Spoor Bunch Franz), Chris Stemley (Disney Financial Services), and Leslie Welsh (Leslie Welsh CPA, Inc.)

In addition to those listed above, Weir serves as the FICPA Secretary-Treasurer, a non-voting member of the Board of Directors and Council.