Chamber Board Members Playing Crucial Role In Leon County One Cent Sales Tax Committee

When voters passed the one-cent sales tax born from Blueprint 2000, an assembly of citizens envisioned major construction projects needed to improve Tallahassee’s infrastructure. That money helped pay for more lanes on Capital Circle Southeast and Capital Circle Northwest. And the Cascades Connector Bridge, Cascades Trail and a flood-relief project for Franklin Boulevard are all in the works.

As of this week, eighteen influential residents have been identified to serve on the Leon County One Cent Sales Tax Committee tasked with deciding what infrastructure projects should be pursued moving forward. It is crucial for the business community to have representation on the committee, as this group of individuals will make recommendations on the next wave of projects should voters decide they want to continue the Blueprint 2000 tax.

Below is the complete list Leon County Sales Tax Committee as of Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2011. Commissioner Sauls was absent and the appointment was continued.

The Greater Tallahassee Chamber of Commerce appointed Henree Martin, Chamber Past Chairman

County Commissioner Akinyemi appointed Mark Tarmey
County Commissioner Dailey appointed William Peeples
County Commissioner Desloge appointed Steve Evans
County Commissioner Dozier appointed Dan Newman
County Commissioner Maddox appointed Rick Bateman
County Commissioner Proctor appointed Bill Tucker

Mayor John Marks appointed R. B. Holmes
City Commissioner Nancy Miller appointed Will Messer
City Commissioner Andrew Gillum appointed Curtis Richardson
City Commissioner Mark Mustian appointed Lamar Taylor
City Commissioner Gil Ziffer appointed Laurie Hartsfield
City Commission appointed Ed Murray
City Commission appointed Kim Rivers

Blueprint CAC appointed Christic Henry
EECC appointed Tom O’Steen
Capital City Chamber Of Commerce appointed Terrence Hinson

Leave a Reply