Joint City-County Bicycling Workgroup Seeks Members

Joint City-County Bicycling Workgroup Seeks Members
Application Period Open Until Sept. 28

Are you interested in cycling-related projects, improvements and events proposed to improve cycling opportunities in our community? If so, you should apply to serve on the new Joint City-County Bicycling Workgroup. Applications are now being accepted.

The workgroup will help to develop recommendations in coordination with Tallahassee-Leon County Planning Department staff on a variety of cycling related topics, including:

  • Reviewing the proposed bicycle route network for Leon County,
  • Assisting in promoting cycling within our community,
  • Reviewing repaving projects for opportunities to incorporate bicycle improvements,
  • Providing input on proposed bicycle-related projects throughout the community and
  • Assisting various City and County departments in planning for bicycle improvements.

“This committee will provide an opportunity for citizens interested in bicycling to assist the City and County in improving bicycling opportunities throughout our community,” said Wayne Tedder, Director of Planning, Land Management and Community Enhancement (PLACE). “The City and County Commissions continue to show their support for bicycle ridership in our community, whether it is for health, recreation or as a primary source of transportation for citizens.”

Applications for the workgroup are available on both the City of Tallahassee and Leon County websites. Completed applications need to be submitted directly to Megan Doherty via email (, fax (891-6404) or mail (435 N. Macomb Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301). They will be accepted until the close of business on Friday, September 28.

The workgroup will be comprised of 12 members, with half (6) appointed by the County and half by the City. Workgroup memberships are multi-year, and the group will meet roughly once every quarter.

For more information, please contact Megan Doherty, AICP, Planning Department, at or 850-891-6441.

CONTACT:  Megan Doherty, Planning Department, (850) 891-6441; Lizzy Kelley, City Communications Department, (850) 891-8533; or Jon D. Brown, County Community & Media Relations, (850) 606-5300